Assembly gives vote of confidence for new coalition

The UBP-DP coalition government received a vote of confidence from the Assembly on Wednesday.

While 27 MPs voted in favour of the new government, 22 MPs voted against the motion.

Eighteen UBP deputies, five DP deputies and four independents all voted in favour of the government, gaining a majority ‘yes’ vote which was all that was required for the vote of confidence to pass.

Zeki Celer of the Social Democratic Party (TDP) abstained from voting.

According to the constitution, no party or group of deputies can file a motion of no confidence for the first three months after a vote of confidence is secured.

Prime Minister Huseyin Ozgurgun, who thanked the Assembly in a speech after the vote, said that the new government will be working to serve the people during its term in office. He also said that it will be the UBP and DP’s priority to do their best to work in harmony with all political parties represented in the Assembly.


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Other Stories