DIKO party votes to leave South’s government

The South Cyprus government’s junior coalition party, (DIKO), headed by Nicholas Papadopoulos (above), has voted to leave the government following disagreements about how President Anastasiades is handling the Cyprus negotiations.

The Central Committee of DIKO, which concluded a lengthy meeting just after midnight on Wednesday, decided to call on the four Ministers and the three Presidents of semi-governmental organizations representing the party to step down.

Ministers appointed after having been proposed by DIKO include the Energy, Commerce, Industry and Tourism Minister, Yiorgos Lakkotrypis, Education and Culture Minister Kyriakos Kenevezos, Health Minister Costas Petrides and Minister of Defence Photis Photiou.

The vote was 97 for and 81 against the proposal for exiting the government, as DIKO spokeswoman Christiana Erotokritou said after the meeting. There were no abstentions.

DIKO Ministers and SGO Presidents are expected to submit their resignations within the next few days.

DIKO had backed President Anastasiades, who won the South Cyprus’ presidential elections on 24th February, 2013 with 57.48% of the vote.

Some commentators have said that the move was a cynical ploy on the part of Papadopoulos who it is said, has his eye is on the presidency.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Other Stories