Juncker to manage Turkish Cypriot Task Force

EU Commission President Jean Claude Juncker and Vice-President Dombrovskis have been given direct management of the ‘Task Force for the Turkish Cypriot Community’, with immediate effect.

“Today the European Commission decided to transfer the ‘Task Force for the Turkish Cypriot Community’, the Commission’s team in charge of the application of the EU Aid Programme for the Turkish Cypriot Community and of assisting the Turkish Cypriot to prepare for the reunification of Cyprus, to the Secretariat General’s Structural Reform Support Service (SRSS) which will coordinate all the Commission’s efforts in facilitating the process for the reunification of Cyprus,” an announcement said.

The ‘Task Force for the Turkish Cypriot Community’ was set up in 2004 and from 2014 became part of Directorate-General for Regional Policy.

The announcement noted that the decision “underlines the Commission’s readiness to continue supporting actively the process at all levels”.

Cyprus Mail

Other Stories