New government coalition agreement to be signed today

The leaders of the National Unity Party (UBP) and the Democratic Party (DP) will sign the coalition agreement at 11am today, at the National Assembly.

Huseyin Ozgurgun, leader of the UBP, who was given the mandate last week by President Mustafa Akinci, to establish a new coalition government in the TRNC, will have decided upon the new cabinet members by today. He will also brief the UBP party assembly on Friday. On Saturday, he will present the list of names of cabinet members to President Akinci.

Meanwhile, the leader of DP-UG Serdar Denktas told BRT that he had discussed the government programme in general terms with Ozgurgun.

“Following the approval of the new coalition government by the president, we will start discussing the government programme. I think these discussions will start during the weekend”, Denktas said.

Responding to a question, Denktas said that there is no problem within the party as regards the new cabinet members.

He also added that work still continues to decide which deputies will become parliamentary committee members.

Noting that his party also outlined the problems existing in the economic protocol with the UBP, Denktas said: “We won’t have serious problems with the UBP on the economic protocol. We will sign the protocol after consultations with Turkey”.

Meanwhile, if President Akinci approves the cabinet list of the UBP-DP government on Saturday, then the parliament will convene on Monday, 18th April.

The constitutional process will begin when the names of members of the new cabinet is read out in parliament.

Halkin Sesi

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Other Stories