Polling stations open at 8am on Sunday

Voters in North Cyprus will be heading to the polls this Sunday to elect a new president.

A total of 176,916 voters will be casting their votes in 693 ballot boxes set up across the country.

There are seven candidates in an election which has been described as the most “unpredictable” because of the wide variation in polling results.

The candidates in the elections are:

Derviş Eroğlu – incumbent President – Independent

Sibel Siber – current Parliamentary Speaker – CTP-BG

Mustafa Akıncı – Independent

Kudret Özersay – Independent

Mustafa Onurer – Cyprus Socialist Party (KSP)

Mustafa Ulaş – Independent

Arif Salih Kırdağ – Independent

In the event that no candidate gains more than half of the votes, a second round ballot will be held on Sunday, 26th April. Voting begins at 8am and will close at 6pm.

The YKP (New Cyprus Party) repeated its call for to boycott the election last week saying that the system does not allow for democratic elections.

Speaking to the press yesterday, the Head of the High Electoral Council Şafak Öneri said that all preparations had been made to hold a just and fair election. He said that voters will be casting their votes into specially designed transparent ballot boxes.

Öneri called everyone to exercise their democratic right and vote in the election.

Kibris Postasi

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Other Stories