Round two of presidential election begins today

Polling stations opened this morning for the second round vote in the TRNC Presidential elections between incumbent President Dervis Eroglu and independent candidate Mustafa Akinci.

As no candidate achieved a 50% vote to win outright last Sunday, voting went to a second stage. Eroglu gained 28.15% of the votes last week, and Akinci came a close second with 26.94%.

Last Sunday saw a turnout of 62% of the electorate. As part of his final campaign, Eroglu, who saw some traditional Eroglu supporters in the UBP pledge to back Akinci, urged those who had not voted in the first round to do so today.

Akinci also received promises of support from the governing CTP party, the unions and members of ‘Toparlaniyoruz’, the social media alliance founded by former negotiator in the Cyprus talks, Kudret Ozersay.

In a close first round Ozersay (Independent) gained 21.25% of the votes and Speaker of the House, Sibel Siber (CTP) won 22.53% of the votes. Ozersay said that he would not be backing either of the two final candidates, while Siber stands behind former Mayor of north Nicosia, Mustafa Akinci.

Unofficial results should be known at around 7.30 – 8.00 this evening.

Other Stories