Unions agree altered working hours with government

The trade unions have finally reached an agreement with the government on adjusting working hours in all state and public offices.

According to the deal reached, public offices in winter will be open from 8am to 12:30pm and 1pm to 4:15pm, 4 days a week and from 8pm to 12:30pm and 1pm to 5:30pm on one day of the week.

Summer working hours at public offices will be between 07:30am to 2pm, 4 days a week and 07:30-12:30pm and 1pm to 5pm on one day of the week.

Commenting on the issue, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance Serdar Denktas said that the agreement with the trade unions had been reached “within the framework of a set of principles“. He said that the summer working hours that would be in place for four months would come into effect on the 2nd Monday of May and would end on the 3rd Monday of September, making a 35 hour working week.

Denktas added that the state employees would be working a 40 hour week during the remaining eight months in winter.


Other Stories