Well-Known Heads Roll in Elections

Well-known MPs such as in the UBP such as former Foreign Minister Tahsin Ertuguloglu, Kemal Durust It also writes that well-known names from the National Unity Party (UBP) such as Tahsin Ertugruloglu, former Minister of Public Works and Transport Kemal Durust, Hakan Dincyurek and Ahmet Kasif were not re-elected. Meanwhile former representatives of the Republican Turkish Party (CTP) Mehmet Caglar, Birikim Ozgur, Salih Izbul and Huseyin Ercal were also not re-elected. However remarkably, independent candidate Cetin Santeli received a surprising number of votes (3,247), but could but not enough to be elected, Turkish Cypriot daily ‘Africa’ reports. It also points to the complexity of the new election system. It not known yet, if two or three members of the settler’s Revival Party (YDP) were elected.

Turkish Cypriot daily ‘Kibris’ writes that the elections held on 7 January, 2018 were the 14th parliamentary elections in the TRNC and that for the first time, six parties managed to enter into the assembly. While there were only four women in the outgoing assembly, this number increased to nine in the new parliament. Three women were elected from the CTP, three from the UBP and three from the People’s Party (HP).

Turkish Cypriot daily ‘Vatan’ points out that the UBP came first in all six districts and that the voter turnout fell from 69.41% in 2013 to 66.2% in 2018

Turkish Cypriot daily ‘Yeni Duzen’ refers to the election results with the headline “Chaos” and reports that in spite of the fact that 48 hours had passed since the ballot boxes were closed, the official results had not been announced yet. The first impression regarding the scenarios for creating a new coalition government shows that “chaos” is about to come, notes the paper, adding that holding new early elections is the most likely outcome.

Afrika, Kibris, Vatan, Yeni Duzen

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Other Stories